Baby Annabell’s Brother- Review & Giveaway

Baby Annabell’s Brother- Review & Giveaway

042

When it comes to reviews on this blog, toys don’t tend to be something we do very often, mainly because Adam and I don’t really agree with either of our children being given something big on a whim (we tend to spoil on Birthdays and Christmas instead), but on this occasion I decided to make an exception. Mainly because a certain 4 year old girl would have probably KILLED ME if i’d turned down the opportunity to review a Baby Annabell’s Brother doll from Zapf Creation! 

You see, both children (and yes, I’m including Freddie here) LOVE playing with dolls. As someone who wasn’t a doll person as a child, the doll/baby obsession is a whole new thing for me, but I’m fast learning that there is no such thing as too many of them! We thought we would make ‘George’ (the official name for Baby Annabell’s Brother, although he has been remaned ‘Jack’ by Sasha) a ‘well done at finishing preschool present’. 

006

So, what is the doll like?

Well Baby Annabell’s Brother is 46cm in height, and comes complete with a bottle and dummy, and is dressed in a soft blue babygrow and hat that you can remove. He drinks real water from his bottle, sucks on his dummy to soothe himself (the noises he makes when doing this are really realistic!), cries real tears, laughs, giggles and will fall asleep with a gentle snoring sound. 

011

The aforementioned interactivity is controlled by an easy access switch at the back, which Sasha has learnt to manage herself, meaning that she can turn him on or off depending on the type of play that she’s going for that day. Interestingly, she seems equally happy with his sounds turned off, I think so she can control what he says/does whilst playing her games of ‘schools’, but I’ve noticed she really loves putting his dummy in his mouth when the movements are turned on, to comfort him. 

015

I have to admit that George/Jack is looking quite ‘well loved’ now, as in the past 6 weeks or so that we’ve had him, he has been EVERYWHERE with us- Italy, Whitstable, Broadstairs- the list goes on and on! So far though he’s holding up well, as is easy to clean with a quick wipe down when he gets grubby on his arms, legs and head. His soft body makes him uber-cuddly though, and he goes to sleep with Sasha most nights (Bunny is most put out…).

002

So what do we think?

At £44.99 RRP Baby Annabell’s Brother isn’t the cheapest of dolls, but to be honest if your little one is doll-mad then he’s definitely worth it, in terms of the interactive play option, and also for the fact he’s a pretty sturdy doll and is similar size to a real-life newborn baby. 

010

The only real criticism I have is that the water bottle isn’t the most practical for little ones, because it has a curved bottom and doesn’t stand up-right, meaning that water tends to escape if you’re not supervising, which can be a bit frustrating. However, this hasn’t stopped Sasha loving playing with him, and I just make sure I fill the bottle up a little at a time. 

013

George/Jack also has an adoring ‘Dad’ in Freddie, who likes to play with him too (and amazingly they share him rather nicely, one being ‘Mum’ and one ‘Dad’!).

018

He’s definitely a very welcome member of the family now! I would quite happily buy another if the occasion arose in the future. 

004

You can see in the video below just how bowled over Sasha was when she saw what her new present was:

So do you fancy winning a Baby Annabell’s Brother doll for the little one in your life?

All you have to do is fill in the Rafflecopter below, using as many options as you’d like. 

Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The terms and conditions:

You must be a UK resident to be eligible for this competition. This prize a Baby Annabell’s Brother Doll and is non-transferable and cannot be exchanged for monetary value; No cash alternatives to the stated prize will be offered; Entrants must be 18 years and over. Competition ends midnight on Sunday 2nd October 2016. Winners will be notified within 5 working days.

Find more great giveaways at Super Lucky Di and The Prize Finder.

 

131 Comments

  1. iain maciver
    August 30, 2016 / 8:55 pm

    everything I,m sure would be jumping for joy

  2. Martina Pichova
    August 30, 2016 / 9:01 pm

    I think my daughter would like the realistic sounds the doll makes.

  3. Paula Readings
    August 30, 2016 / 9:04 pm

    I think she would like the fact that it looks like a real baby.

  4. Jane Berrow
    August 30, 2016 / 9:07 pm

    She would love to dress him

  5. August 30, 2016 / 9:12 pm

    I think my girl would love the fact that it is a boy doll….She only has girl dolls. hehehe

  6. Simon C
    August 30, 2016 / 9:19 pm

    The fact that he drinks real water is going to be a major hit with my girls. They would absolutely love to win this doll.

  7. Tee simpson
    August 30, 2016 / 9:36 pm

    My little one will like the real baby nosies

  8. jessica woods
    August 30, 2016 / 9:37 pm

    That it’s a boy my son wants a baby like his big sisters:)

  9. Catherine McAlinden
    August 30, 2016 / 9:49 pm

    My son is George, he and his sister would love a doll named after him!

  10. Angela Treadway
    August 30, 2016 / 10:29 pm

    The fact he is interactive is brilliant x

  11. Fiona Paley
    August 30, 2016 / 10:48 pm

    The fact that he drinks real water will amaze her. She has a Baby Annabell girl doll but she doesn’t do that.

  12. Tracy Nixon
    August 31, 2016 / 6:08 am

    My daughter will just love that he is a boy because all her dolls are girls!

  13. S Edwards
    August 31, 2016 / 7:12 am

    My girls would love that they can feed him 🙂

  14. laura stewart
    August 31, 2016 / 7:27 am

    everything my daughter loves dolls x

  15. joanna butler-savage
    August 31, 2016 / 9:06 am

    another baby will make her so excited – she says she wants 5!!!

  16. Ruth Harwood
    August 31, 2016 / 9:19 am

    she’ll love that it’s interactive xx

  17. Ray Dodds
    August 31, 2016 / 9:35 am

    My granddaughter would love this to go with baby annabel

  18. Jennifer Toal
    August 31, 2016 / 10:39 am

    The fact it’s a boy

  19. Lucy B
    August 31, 2016 / 12:11 pm

    she will love to dress him

  20. Sally Collingwood
    August 31, 2016 / 12:27 pm

    Skye loves babies and the fact rthat this little dolly looks like a baby she would find fantastic!!

  21. lucy higgins
    August 31, 2016 / 2:52 pm

    My niece would love this doll as she has a girl dolly but she has a doube pushchair and always puts her teddy in the other side so this would be perfect

  22. Kim M
    August 31, 2016 / 4:18 pm

    That he’s so cuddly x

  23. Sue McCarthy
    August 31, 2016 / 4:24 pm

    I don’t have any children but would love to win this prize to donate to charity, to go to Romania.

  24. Andrea Fletcher
    August 31, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    I like the fact that he has a soft body.

  25. Hannah Scudder
    August 31, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    He would love that it is a boy because all you seem to be able to buy is baby doll girls

  26. natalie moore
    August 31, 2016 / 8:35 pm

    dressing him

  27. Rebecca Nisbet
    August 31, 2016 / 8:38 pm

    my daughter treats her other dolls like her babys, so she would love to have a little boy one.

  28. EJ Dunn
    August 31, 2016 / 8:56 pm

    I think the sounds will be the highlight!

  29. Erin Thomas
    August 31, 2016 / 10:56 pm

    My angel would love the fact that she can feed him! X

  30. kim neville
    September 1, 2016 / 7:38 am

    Would love a boy doll that is interactive

  31. Lucy Smithson
    September 1, 2016 / 8:20 am

    Great review. Florence would love him!

  32. Amanda
    September 1, 2016 / 9:01 am

    Everything! Especially the dress him up

  33. Jo Hutchinson
    September 1, 2016 / 4:03 pm

    I think my little one would love dressing and pushing the doll around in a buggy.

  34. Tricia Cowell
    September 1, 2016 / 5:52 pm

    being able to feed and change him , and cuddles

  35. Angela McDonald
    September 1, 2016 / 9:53 pm

    I think they’d love dressing him!

  36. Kelly Ellen Hirst
    September 2, 2016 / 9:24 am

    She would love that her girl baby annabell would have a twin!

  37. Kirsteen Mackay
    September 2, 2016 / 6:22 pm

    My daughter would love that it is a boy doll

  38. Carolsue
    September 3, 2016 / 8:04 am

    My daughter would love it because it looks so lifelike and cuddly.
    Digicats {at} Sbcglobal {dot} Net

  39. joanne casey
    September 3, 2016 / 9:15 am

    She would love the fact that it’s a boy rather than a girl, she loves playing mummy and only has girl dolls so would be over the moon with this!

  40. jules Eley
    September 3, 2016 / 7:37 pm

    I think the fact its a boy is great and my little sophia would love to take care of him!

  41. janine atkin
    September 3, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    the fact that he’s a boy 🙂

  42. Gill mitchell
    September 3, 2016 / 9:24 pm

    I think my daughter would love the novelty of a boy doll, along with the real tears and the noises.

  43. Rita Hutton
    September 4, 2016 / 10:50 am

    She would love to have a little brother for her Annabell doll

  44. sam pope
    September 4, 2016 / 2:16 pm

    who said it was for my little one lol? i’m a doll collector!

  45. Katie Skeoch
    September 4, 2016 / 2:34 pm

    They’ll love the sounds the doll makes, especially the snoring!

  46. laura
    September 4, 2016 / 5:24 pm

    That its interactive !!

  47. claire woods
    September 4, 2016 / 5:41 pm

    The fact that he drinks real water.

  48. Astra Coath
    September 4, 2016 / 6:26 pm

    I think my little girl would love the fact that he is a boy!! She loves her dolls but I think she would think this one is extra special!

  49. maria blythin
    September 5, 2016 / 6:06 pm

    the fact that its a boy x very difficult to find boy baby dolls x

  50. Leanne Lunn
    September 5, 2016 / 9:31 pm

    She would love a little boy doll hers are all girls, she loves playing with her dolls.

  51. Hayley Colburn
    September 5, 2016 / 11:13 pm

    most of all she would love that its a baby boy

  52. September 7, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    My son would actually love this so much, he’s obsessed with babies and he’d love looking after him and pushing him around in a buggy!

  53. clare Hubbard
    September 7, 2016 / 8:16 pm

    My sons would love another boy to nurture and join their gang! I’m sure they will love feeding him water

  54. Corina Cullen
    September 8, 2016 / 8:28 am

    She loves boy tv characters and loves george instead of peppa, she has 2 big brothers and would love this boy doll as she loves playing with boys

  55. katherine s
    September 10, 2016 / 3:34 pm

    My niece would love this because the doll is a boy. All the dolls she has are girl dolls.

  56. Mary Duncan
    September 10, 2016 / 11:27 pm

    He would love that it is cuddly – he already has baby dolls that he adores, but they are all hard plastic ones.

  57. Kerry Locke
    September 11, 2016 / 5:05 pm

    My daughter would love the fact that its a boy dolly and a brother to her baby Annabell

  58. Tanya Gavaghan
    September 11, 2016 / 10:08 pm

    I think my little boy would love that this doll is a baby boy like him, as his sister has baby annabelle.

  59. Rachel Butterworth
    September 11, 2016 / 11:08 pm

    The life-like noises it makes.

  60. Donna Caldwell
    September 12, 2016 / 11:57 am

    My daughter would love how realistic it looks and sounds

  61. Maria Dhillon
    September 12, 2016 / 6:08 pm

    That he drinks water

  62. Jessica Sawyer
    September 12, 2016 / 7:07 pm

    She would love that he drinks water

  63. Stevie
    September 13, 2016 / 4:14 pm

    My niece would love the doll to put in her new Silver Cross pram.

  64. ADEINNE TONNER
    September 14, 2016 / 9:21 pm

    They would enjoy playing with it feeding,changing clothes ect

  65. Laura Pritchard
    September 15, 2016 / 8:42 pm

    My son would love this so he could play dolls with his sister!

  66. Lynne Durkin
    September 17, 2016 / 5:13 pm

    She would love the fact that it was her very own special baby to look after x

  67. JULIE WARD
    September 18, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    That he drinks water, but she would love everything else as well

  68. Phyllis Ellett
    September 19, 2016 / 12:16 pm

    I think the size of the doll is just right for our little one.

  69. Sharon Lou Johnson
    September 19, 2016 / 6:15 pm

    would be fab for my little girl as she wants a brother and i defo aint giving her one!!

  70. Pam Francis Gregory
    September 20, 2016 / 12:24 pm

    That it drinks real water

  71. September 23, 2016 / 12:55 pm

    Kate and Josh would love imitating me looking after their little sister.

  72. Clare Munden
    September 24, 2016 / 9:57 am

    My daughter loves dolls and she doesn’t have a boy baby yet 🙂

  73. jodie harvey
    September 24, 2016 / 10:28 am

    my girls would love this, they have a new baby brother (3 months old) and love to dress their dolls up in his outgrown clothes

  74. Sarah (Mum x3x)
    September 25, 2016 / 7:59 pm

    I think my little girl would just love the fact that it’s a boy. She keeps asking for a boy doll 🙂 This one looks great!

  75. Alison Macdonald
    September 27, 2016 / 10:39 am

    The fact that it is a BOY! My daughter is 9 and still loves playing with her dolls (much to my delight) but the dolls are all girls x

  76. Caroline Cordery
    September 27, 2016 / 10:50 am

    It’s got lovely freckles and a sweet face, not too staringly unnatural!

  77. September 27, 2016 / 9:35 pm

    She’s already got Annabelle and she could put the babies together.

  78. Rachel white
    September 28, 2016 / 4:22 pm

    I have twins.. boy & girl so this could be twinnybob boy doll! Perfect

  79. Julie
    September 28, 2016 / 4:33 pm

    They’ll love the fact it’s a boy!

  80. kimberley ryan
    September 29, 2016 / 2:39 pm

    I think my daughter would love that its a boy, she has a couple of girl dolls but no boys. I think she would also like the interactive features

  81. Sandy ralph
    September 29, 2016 / 7:50 pm

    i think they would like it most of all as its a boy doll rather than all the usual girl ones

  82. Rachel Craig
    September 29, 2016 / 8:19 pm

    A baby boy doll that she can love and care for. Just like her mum with her baby brother. She would love to take the doll out for a walk in her pram etc.

  83. Ruby Spiteri
    September 29, 2016 / 11:29 pm

    that he is a boy as the rest of her dolls are girls x

  84. Ray Becker
    September 30, 2016 / 7:44 am

    think being a boy

  85. Julie Paton
    September 30, 2016 / 9:04 pm

    My grandaughter would love this as she a baby brother – double the fun 🙂

  86. Sheri Darby
    September 30, 2016 / 10:38 pm

    It’s just like her brother

  87. Emma Campbell
    October 1, 2016 / 2:57 pm

    She’d love that its a boy doll, as she’s only ever had girl dolls

  88. liz ferguson
    October 1, 2016 / 3:55 pm

    that he is a boy xx

  89. Emma carrington
    October 1, 2016 / 4:39 pm

    Purely that he is a boy, it will fascinate my daughter!

  90. Rebecca Powell
    October 1, 2016 / 5:35 pm

    I think my daughter would love the life like noises that it makes

  91. Charlotte Hoskins
    October 1, 2016 / 7:39 pm

    Since the dummy fairy visited my daughter, she loves putting a dummy in her dolly’s mouth, so I think this would be her favourite feature!

  92. October 1, 2016 / 8:08 pm

    My little one would absolutely love the baby Annabel brother doll. Shes started to see some of the adverts on tv and is already starting to make a very long list from christmas which includes a baby Annabel doll! I’ve entered the rafflecopter so fingers crossed! Emily

  93. gemma hendry
    October 1, 2016 / 8:19 pm

    that its a boy

  94. Victoria Prince
    October 1, 2016 / 8:44 pm

    The fact that he is so realistic 🙂 great to pretend to be “mummy”!

  95. lynn neal
    October 1, 2016 / 10:30 pm

    I think she would love that he is interactive!

  96. A.E. ADKINS
    October 1, 2016 / 11:00 pm

    That he is so lifelike!

  97. Sarah hanson
    October 1, 2016 / 11:05 pm

    A baby doll of her own for her that’s just like her brother

  98. Heli L
    October 1, 2016 / 11:56 pm

    My daughter has two big brothers so I think she would love being a big sister to Baby Annabell’s Brother and being the one to look after him!

  99. Lynsey Buchanan
    October 2, 2016 / 12:30 am

    My daughter would like that the doll is so realistic

  100. Denielle Nicol
    October 2, 2016 / 2:12 am

    That she also has a little boy doll to play with too

  101. Allan Fullarton
    October 2, 2016 / 8:10 am

    She will love to dress him, she loves dolls.

  102. Petra Hora
    October 2, 2016 / 8:22 am

    Wow finally a brother is here. I love the fact that’s is a boy and my two sons can play with it. I always wanted to buy a doll for my sons but my husband didn’t approve it. He would be happy with a baby boy doll.

  103. Val Pownall
    October 2, 2016 / 8:42 am

    Our girls would love a baby boy doll to join their family of baby girls. He’d be well loved!

  104. Lena Gamblin
    October 2, 2016 / 8:43 am

    Having 2 girls they would love having a brother and a baby, it looks so real and would enetertain them. It’s for hours!

  105. Vicki Wilson
    October 2, 2016 / 9:12 am

    My little girl (and boy) would love the interactive features. The sucking and sound functions would be a big novelty as we don’t have a doll that does this yet 🙂

  106. david cavender
    October 2, 2016 / 9:18 am

    she will love him because he’s so life like

  107. Carol Boffey
    October 2, 2016 / 9:39 am

    Great prize ty

  108. paul jackson
    October 2, 2016 / 10:39 am

    the laughing and giggling

  109. Susan B
    October 2, 2016 / 10:45 am

    The fact that he is so incredibly lifelike in so many ways.

  110. Lisa Houston
    October 2, 2016 / 11:55 am

    I would love to win this for my son. Then he could play with his sister and her baby annabell and wouldnt feel silly because its a boy

  111. Nikola
    October 2, 2016 / 1:56 pm

    Fantastic Prize????????????Thanks For Amazing Giveaway????????????Happy Autumn????????????Have A Lovely Sunday!Xoxoxo????????????

  112. Sandra Jo Siddall
    October 2, 2016 / 2:25 pm

    My little one would love the real sounds and that he is a boy 🙂 She only has girl dolls so I think she would love this more.

  113. Caroline Signey
    October 2, 2016 / 2:40 pm

    The fact that it’s a baby boy

  114. Teresa Sheldon
    October 2, 2016 / 3:05 pm

    My little girl has been on and on about having a boy baby for ages, she has an Annabel and adores her, but this little chap would really make her day, she loves playing mummy and pushes her dollies out with us whenever she can

  115. Nancy Bradford
    October 2, 2016 / 4:14 pm

    She has never had a proper doll to care for but I know she would love this one.

  116. Gloria C
    October 2, 2016 / 4:52 pm

    The fact that it’s a baby boy!

  117. Natalie Crossan
    October 2, 2016 / 6:38 pm

    That it’s a boy xx

  118. Debbie Burfoot
    October 2, 2016 / 7:52 pm

    My son keeps saying he wants a boy baby to look after..he’s only 4 and just started reception

  119. Cassandra Mayers
    October 2, 2016 / 8:27 pm

    She would love him. She has the girl one and would a brother for her

  120. Leeanne Clifford
    October 2, 2016 / 8:54 pm

    It would be brilliant for my great nephew. He has autism and adhd and can get quite fixated with blue being for boys so he would definitely join in with his cousin lily and play babies

  121. Wendy Malone
    October 2, 2016 / 9:02 pm

    I think she will love a brother for baby annabella and a twin buggy to push

  122. Leila Benhamida
    October 2, 2016 / 9:53 pm

    My daughter will love feed her. Wonderful prize.????

  123. AnnaH
    October 2, 2016 / 9:59 pm

    My girls love dolls but we don’t have any boy ones. This would be a real novelty!

  124. Jasmine Johns
    October 2, 2016 / 10:21 pm

    My daughter would love the fact it’s interactive and it’s a boy just like her brother she will love that.

  125. Kelly
    October 2, 2016 / 10:25 pm

    My little boy would love that it’s a boy doll!

  126. Kirsty Greer
    October 2, 2016 / 10:35 pm

    My daughter would love everything about this x

  127. kathy cakebread
    October 2, 2016 / 10:42 pm

    that its a boy doll

  128. Adrian Bold
    October 2, 2016 / 10:51 pm

    My niece would love this as she doesn’t have any ‘baby’ dolls.

  129. pauline dring
    October 2, 2016 / 11:05 pm

    I think my 7 year old granddaughter would love this doll as she only has girl dolls so this would be unusual

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *